Paul, explaining his farewell.

This morning I came to the book of Acts. I had not been here in a while, but a scripture touched my heart and I wanted to read more. I was personally inclined to focus on Paul’s wrapping up of ministry in one area; he would not see them again and knew it, and he was explaining that he’d been obedient, but not he had to move on to the next step the Lord had for him, which would ultimately bless others.

“But I do not consider my life of any account as dear to myself, so that I may finish my course and the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify solemnly of the gospel of the grace of God….for I did not shrink back declaring to you the whole purpose of God” (Acts 20:24, 27, NASB 1995).

By Candlelight Creative

He preached the Gospel, worked hard, and stayed generous (Acts 20:33-35). Paul’s perseverance encouraged me. When we are doing one thing, it can be easy to be so focused on it, we cannot see anything else. But here in this chapter amidst humble service, trials and evil schemes of the religious leaders (Acts 20: 19).

Paul did not let any one thing become everything but continued faithfully plowing forward toward the goal being sure to keep himself in check and fit both for the kingdom and physically too, which benefitted himself and others then and eternally (1 Corinthians 9:27).

This morning, I am summing up this reading time with encouragement for those who are wearing multiple hats, as most of us are: Sharing the Hope of our Lord Jesus, working in some way while experiencing the normal wear that the body goes through when being pushed, and serving tangibly however we are being led at that time.

By Candlelight Creative

If you are weak and weary and just need a hot cup of something and to be reminded you are not alone on this journey where our bodies at times fight fatigue, our minds their comfortable fantasies, and our hearts their yearnings for a pain-free life, it’s okay to admit.

Then we say, “Oh, God, we are thankful for this life, for it is not without purpose! Forgive us for when our eyes come off of You. Keep us on your path, and remind us when we are weary that you are actually very near. Pour on us joy overflowing, which sabotages evil schemes of the enemy like faith as a shield does. In Jesus name we pray, amen.”

Published by

warmly, meg

Writing on a mountain, but I know the valley well.

Leave a note