Life as a train ride.

Spring has past arrived but only in the recent days have I felt it brushed against my skin, bestowing my eyes with its graces and beauty, sending wafts of fragrant honeysuckle soaring through the air. Everything within me wants to bask in it all day long; to press pause on tasks and be as still as possible so as not to miss a thing.

By Candlelight Creative

Even the not-so-pleasant wasps came out to greet us as we ate our lunch on the bottom deck after church this Sunday. Hummus, pickles, and spread with crackers. The craving for a picnic-like feast had begun, so I was happy to grab some items from the store last week. Ones that suited my fancy. Hopefully we will enjoy another Sunday afternoon like that one again very soon. It was pleasant and I imagine a chore probably either got pushed back or didn’t get completed all-together that day.

By Candlelight Creative

I’ve been enjoying other little things too like sipping my morning coffee while watching this YouTube channel. Silent vlogs with easy morning routines, a day in the life of a writer, or out in nature or creating art are relaxing to me. I do not hardly watch anything else anymore. I think it started two years ago when I found Trout & Coffee. Real life stories without news anchors involved began to appeal to me until everything else washed away. Most early mornings I do not prefer to read first thing, though today I actually did in 1 Corinthians. I needed time in the Word. I always do. Maybe not every follower is Christ is so needy, but I surely am! I can feel it when I am not in my Bible as often. And on the days when I am not, I try to meditate on the scriptures that will help me but reading it fresh is always best for me personally.

By Candlelight Creative

We went on a little getaway this past weekend. This past two seasons we have worked so hard, and really the past few years. Through this time there has not been much time for breaks, and I think that is why my body is weary and I am craving slowness and stillness this Spring much like I begin to do in the fall and winter months.

By Candlelight Creative

It has felt like such a long, cold season to me this is recent warm weather is almost a shock. To be able to shift my work life soon is a prayer, so I can spend more time with my family, swim in the creative flow, and enjoy God’s creation beauty: reasonable and worthy goals, I believe. Have you ever been dually thankful for your reality while also seeing it as more? It is not that I am not content, but like I am on a train ride, and every so often at stops, I find treasures that help me make sense along route to said destination.

I try to use these treasures wisely, and always have, except the past few years felt like the driver of the train was mistaken. My treasures did not make sense concerning the way of the tracks, and the map I was looking at. But I learned I can not stare out the window to compare so much as I need to enjoy the ride, trust the process on the tracks, and see what life is bursting within the train itself. If that does not make sense, I don’t quite know how to put it otherwise. My mind thinks in pictures and stories, and my guess is, when I am fairly healed, they come out brighter, full of hope. Because if you would have had me retell the journey six months ago, it would have looked more like a long, dark tunnel.

Someone at work asked me a question that prompted the answer, “I am not sure. It’s like I am starting over all over again. It’s like I just got here.”

So what if I did? Than I would step foot off the train and smile. Coming soon (below).

Published by

warmly, meg

Writing on a mountain, but I know the valley well.

Leave a note